Formula Drift Irwindale Race Report

Posted October 15 2012

Rhys Millen Finishes 3rd Overall in Formula Drift 2012 Championship

Rhys Millen Racing - Huntington Beach, CA – October 15, 2012 

Rhys Millen entered this past weekends final round in the 2012 Formula Drift Championship at Irwindale Speedway with only two drivers standing is his way for a overall championship win. Millen quickly made his presence known with a first qualifying pass of 97 placing him on top and gaining valuable points for Saturdays season closer.

Round 7 main event was standing room only as for the first time in Formula DRIFT and Irwindale Speedway history the event sold out before the gates opened to the public.  

Millen would advance on through his Top 32, 16 and 8 battles coming down to the semifinals Top 4 where Millen and Daigo would meet and determine the overall 2012 winner.

"I gave it everything I had to put RMR on top. With qualifying first on Friday and events throughout the evening going in our favor, it came down to Daigo and myself. Unfortunately, things didn't end in our favor tonight putting us third overall in points this season," said Millen.  

Irwindale marks Hyundai's last involvement in Formula Drift ending a four year relationship in the motorsport. (MOTORSPORT RELATIONSHIP ENDS WITH HYUNDAI)

No official information at this time towards a 2013 Formula Drift season, but RMR with its long heritage and fighting spirit in the sport of drifting looks towards creating new relations with a passionate title sponsor and continuing to battle hard with those loyal to our program.      

RMR now moves onto its final event of the season in Global RallyCross on October 30, 2012 during SEMA at Las Vegas, Nevada.

2012 Formula Drift Championship

1. Daigo Saito - 548

2. Vaughn Gittin, Jr - 529

3. Rhys Millen - 509